Company history

FUTURE
2011

Victory in a large-scale ideas competition

Victory in a large-scale ideas competition organised by a major bank. The TIX model, matched to the specific needs of the customer zone, becomes an important element in the new image laid down for more than 200 branches of this bank in Switzerland.

2011

Milan Furniture Fair

The company exhibits at the Milan Furniture Fair for the first time, then accesses the Asian market, which is today developing continuously and intensively.

2007

Solving the next-generation problem

Solving the next-generation problem: Zoom by Mobimex is handed over by founder and proprietor Walter Zwick to Girsberger AG of Bützberg, with the declared aim of continuing to operate as an entirely independent brand at the existing location.

2004

TIX

The TIX collection, developed with the Italo-Argentinian architect Dante Bonuccelli, is launched. It ushers in a whole new generation of tables with its interplay of cool (steel/aluminium) and warm (solid wood) materials, its filigree structures and its bold surfaces. TIX can claim with much pride to have been imitated many times over, but it has established itself worldwide in both living areas and as contract furnishing.

1996

Cologne Exhibition

Heavy rectangular tables exhibited in Cologne, though (at that time) nobody wanted them. But in the spring of 1997 the first orders were taken, and soon built up to a veritable avalanche of business.

1995

Design Award

BEST OF NEOCON. Victory in the design award contest held every year in the USA. The media influence exerted by this award led to an exceptionally rapid buildup of market presence in North America.

1990

Government Order

The government of the Swiss canton of Neuenburg ordered a very large made to measure table. This was the first step forward by Zoom into the office world, and at the same time an incentive for development of its first chief executive’s office.

1989

First two tables on display in Germany

First two tables on display in Germany, at Fleiner in Stuttgart. This began the internationalisation of the collection. The best specialist stores in Germany adopted the Zoom concept immediately: good design, solid wood as a high-value, timeless natural product and in addition a free choice of forms, dimensions and edge profiles were absolutely new in the furniture trade.

1984

Company’s First Design

Breakthrough with the company’s first design: modern solid wood tables oriented toward “Bauhaus” design principles. This was at a time when solid wood almost always meant either Scandinavian or rustic, and was almost unknown among architects. Since these tables were produced to specific order and made to measure, the ZOOM name had a certain logic. The company’s own brand was born.

1978

Acquisition of IDEALHEIM

Acquisition of the Swiss IDEALHEIM collection by Dieter Waeckerlin, Basel. This was when the decision to build up the company’s own collection was taken. The attraction of developing and realising one’s own ideas became the company’s core business area.

1974

Establishment of the Company

Company established to import high-quality furniture for design-oriented trade outlets. Showroom and warehouse in Lenzburg.

1974
TOP

Geschichte

ZUKUNFT
2011

Gewinn Ideenwettbewerb

Gewinn des gross angelegten Ideenwettbewerbs einer Grossbank. Das Modell TIX, angepasst auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse in den Kundenzonen, ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil des neuen Erscheinungsbildes der über 200 schweizerischen Niederlassungen dieser Bank geworden.

2011

Möbelmesse Mailand

Erstmalige Ausstellung an der Möbelmesse Mailand, gefolgt vom Eintritt in den asiatischen Markt, der sich heute kontinuierlich und intensiv weiterentwickelt.

2007

Nachfolgelösung

Nachfolgelösung. Zoom by Mobimex ging vom Gründer und Inhaber Walter Zwick über an Girsberger AG Bützberg, mit dem Ziel als völlig eigene Marke am bisherigen Standort weitergeführt zu werden.

2004

TIX

Geburt der Kollektion TIX, die mit dem italienisch/argentinischen Architekten Dante Bonuccelli entwickelt wurde. Das Spiel mit kalten (Stahl/Aluminium) und warmen (Massivholz) Materialien, feingliedrigen Strukturen und markanten Flächen prägte eine ganz neue Tischgeneration. TIX wurde durch viele, viele Nachahmer geadelt. Im Wohn- und im Objektbereich hat sich TIX weltweit etabliert.

1996

Präsentation in Köln

Präsentation von schweren, rechteckigen Tischen in Köln, die (noch) niemand haben wollte. Im Frühjahr 1997 folgten die ersten Aufträge, die sich zu einer eigentlichen Lawine entwickelten.

1995

Design Award

BEST OF NEOCON. Gewinn des höchsten Design-Awards für Einrichtungsgegenstände, der in den USA jährlich vergeben wird. Die Medienwirksamkeit dieses Awards führte zu einem wunderbaren und schnellen Markteintritt in Nordamerika.

1990

Bestellung durch Regierung

Die Regierung des Kantons Neuenburg hat einen sehr grossen Tisch nach Mass bestellt. Das war der erste Schritt von Zoom by Mobimex in die Bürowelt und gleichzeitig Anstoss zur Entwicklung der ersten Chefbüros.

1989

Platzierung in Deutschland

Erste Platzierung von zwei Tischen in Deutschland, bei Fleiner in Stuttgart. Das war der Start zur Internationalisierung der Kollektion. In den besten Fachgeschäften Deutschlands wurde das Zoom-Konzept sofort angenommen, Gutes Design, Massivholz als wertvolles, zeitloses Naturprodukt und dazu die Wahlfreiheit von Formen, Massen, Kantenprofilen waren absolut neu in der Branche.

1984

Erstes Eigendesign

Grosser Durchbruch mit dem ersten Eigendesign, moderne, sich am Bauhaus orientierende Massivholztische. Vorher war Massivholz fast nur skandinavisch oder rustikal, im Architekturfachgeschäft eher unbekannt. Weil nur nach Mass und auftragsbezogen gefertigt wurde, war die Namensgebung ZOOM logisch. Damit war die Eigenmarke geboren.

1978

Erwerb IDEALHEIM

Erwerb der schweizerischen Kollektion IDEALHEIM von Dieter Waeckerlin Basel. Gleichzeitig fiel der Entscheid, eine eigene Kollektion aufzubauen. Der Reiz, eigene Ideen zu entwickeln und umzusetzen wurde zum „Kerngeschäft“.

1974

Firmengründung

Firmengründung als Importeur von hochwertigen Möbeln für den designorientierten Fachhandel. Schauraum und Lager in Lenzburg

1974
OBEN